Commentary: Make a strong case for disability-income coverage

Commentary: Make a strong case for disability-income coverage Advisers selling individual disability-income insurance must understand the product as well as the client’s needs, writes Doug Waters of The Standard. Advisers also can use discussions about other voluntary benefits to foster conversations about disability insurance, Waters writes. BenefitsPro.com (10/22)  

Read More

Commentary: Take steps to educate small firms on disability insurance

Commentary: Take steps to educate small firms on disability insurance Small businesses present opportunities for disability insurance sales, although some challenges exist, writes Keith Storie of Standard Insurance. Storie suggests touting the importance of coverage, developing customized plans and keeping clients informed about their plans. BenefitsPro.com (9/30)  

Read More

SSA wants stricter disability-benefit rules

SSA wants stricter disability-benefit rules A Social Security Administration proposal recently published in the Federal Register would require people applying for disability benefits to provide all relevant medical information. “This would include evidence that may be either favorable or unfavorable to your claim,” the proposal says. The Wall Street Journal…

Read More

Few consumers are prepared for loss of income

Few consumers are prepared for loss of income A disability-related loss of income can devastate a household’s finances, even in dual-income households, but few people have a plan in place to mitigate the impact. “A well thought-out plan that includes disability insurance is the only sensible way to protect against…

Read More

Reasons for disability claims in the workforce

A study by Unum reveals some reasons for long-term-disability claims. For the 12th year, cancer is the top reason for LTD claims for Unum, followed closely by back disorders, according to 2012 claims data. Cancer claims were nearly 16% of the company’s LTC claims, while back disorders made up 15.1%…

Read More

Commentary: Prepare clients for the disability underwriting process

Commentary: Prepare clients for the disability underwriting process Financial advisers should prepare their clients for the outcomes that may result when applying for disability-income coverage, writes Kieran Mullins of MetLife. They will need to explain issues such as why an underwriter assigned a rating that leads to a higher premium…

Read More

Do you need disability insurance?

Do you need disability insurance? The health-care challenges that victims of the Boston bombings will face has brought the little-understood issue of disability insurance into the spotlight. marketwatch.com http://www.marketwatch.com/story/do-you-need-disability-insurance-2013-04-26  

Read More

Insurance covers retirement contributions lost during disability

Insurance covers retirement contributions lost during disability Two new insurance products address the risk of lost contributions to 401(k) plans in the event of a disability. One product provides a lump-sum payment a year after the disability that is intended to replace the total contributions the employee would have made…

Read More

Ameritas Medical Underwriting for DI Insurance

Event status: Not started (Register) Date and time: Monday, March 25, 2013 2:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00) Change time zone   Monday, March 25, 2013 1:00 pm Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00)   Monday, March 25, 2013 11:00 am Pacific Daylight Time (San Francisco, GMT-07:00)   Monday,…

Read More

Ameritas Selling DI Insurance to Cost Conscious Buyers

Event status: Not started (Register) Date and time: Monday, March 18, 2013 11:00 am Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00) Change time zone Monday, March 18, 2013 10:00 am Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00) Monday, March 18, 2013 8:00 am Pacific Daylight Time (San Francisco, GMT-07:00) Monday, March 18, 2013…

Read More